1969 saw former Hawthorn footballer Ron Nalder take over as coach of the Firsts for the Club’s assault on D Section. Norm Latchford continued as President and Roberts Moore for a number of years had been a most dedicated Secretary. In fact, the administration of the Club was very much held together by Roberts. Despite the pressures of administration, Roberts from time to time donned his football boots (on sunny days) to show that he could still ride on the shoulders of a pack before twisting his ankle on his return to earth thus necessitating another forced retirement. Ian Curtis and Dennis Cox were captain and vice captain. However promotion to C Section eluded the Club as the Firsts could only manage seventh position with seven wins and eleven losses.

The Reserves on the other hand, again captain coached by Terry Hense, won their third consecutive premiership. Moreover, they did it the hard way finishing in third position and having a narrow three point win in the first semi final over Ajax. Then followed a hard fought win over Old Haileybury in the preliminary final – Old Trinity 11-13-79 to Old Haileybury 10-8-68, and a 15 point victory over AMP in the grand final.

In the grand final Old Trinity 9-9-63 defeated AMP Society 7-6-48.

Goal kickers were T. Weir 3, R. Moore 2, P Clingin, R. Curtis, R. De Boos, B. Lansdell and best players were N. Anderson, J. Daly, R. Christie, D. Galbraith, B. Lansdell & J. Charge.

This was an era when dropkicks were not frowned upon and the Amateur Football Record records that “fullback Rod Jones finally tried dropkicks from the kick out and he was as surprised as anyone at the distance they carried”. John “Wacka” Williams was also noted in the Record for his spectacular marking and fearless charges having chalked up his 50th game during the season.

Awards for 1969

Weatherson Medallist (Formerly B&F): Peter Quarterman
Fairest and Best Reserves Player: Rodney De Boos
Best First Year Player: Alan Gillespie-Jones
Best Firsts Team Player: Ian Curtis
Best Reserves Team Player: Terry Hense
Most Improved Player: Michael Burke
Best Clubman: Graeme Alford
100 Games: Rowan McClean