Following the retirement of Laurie Chynoweth, Graham Humphreys was appointed captain coach for 1964. Graham also played his 100th game during the year – the first Old Trinity player to reach that milestone. Roy Smead was appointed President.

1964 was a big year for decisions as the Club looked for a new ground and decided to field a reserves side the following year. A new danger loomed too, as introduction of an F Section meant for the first time the bottom two sides in E Section would be relegated.

The team started well, winning five out of the first nine, but, like 1963 and again due to injury, it tailed off in the second half of the season managing only one more win and a draw. Six wins, one draw and eleven losses resulted in sixth place out of ten, comfortably out of the relegation zone.

The team now boasted the best centreline in the competition with Ian Henderson, John Farmer and Neil Hudson. Neil Hudson provided another club record by kicking 6 goals from the wing in 2 consecutive games. Neil finished the season as the leading goal scorer for the Club kicking 31 goals.

Rowan McClean was also making a mark in the goal stakes and half way through the season was the E Section leading goal scorer notwithstanding that he was playing in the ruck; presumably partly due to the ancient custom of resting a ruckman in the forward pocket. Rob Turner and Peter Leaper were dominating and Peter Fix, Graeme Harris and Graham Humphreys were solid in the backline. Warner Veale returned after a layoff and was dominant around the packs and Tom Ingpen was a welcome addition. The season finished on a sour note with Bob Turner receiving a head injury during a game following which he underwent an operation at Box Hill Hospital. Thankfully all turned out well and Bob fully recovered.

Warwick Smead continued with his sterling efforts in administration. Graham Humphreys was juggling the roles of captain, coach and Treasurer whilst at the same time becoming the first Old Trinity player to reach 100 games.

Awards for 1964

Best and Fairest: Ian Henderson
Most Improved Player: Peter Fix
Best Clubman: Peter Kagan