In 1958 Laurie Chynoweth stepped down from his coaching role and this was taken on by Lindsay Dowling who was also appointed captain. The Club was fortunate to have a number of younger old boys join it for this season. Whilst the Club made further advances it was still unable to repeat its 1955 form when it had played in its first final.

However five games during the season were lost by 6 points or less, and thus a goal here or there could have made a significant difference to the overall result.

The team’s form over the year was patchy with the Club showing flashes of brilliance in beating teams well above it on the ladder and by putting together one or two good quarters in a match, but not four. However, the team was able to win three of the last five games including two against teams in the four.

A highlight for the Club in another otherwise disappointing season was the fact that Lindsay Dowling polled equal third in the E Section best and fairest voting.

Also, Les Hooper transferred to Hawthorn FC thirds halfway through the season and was a significant loss. Other players to make an impact during the season were Gavin Ford as a first year player, Laurie Ford, Bruce Hotton, Harry Qwong, Ian Mason, and Warner Veale who joined the Club halfway through the season. Warwick Smead, who was to become one of the stalwarts of the Club in years to come, performed the task of boundary umpire when there was only one running each boundary.

Bruce Hotton marks over a two Power House opponents

On the administrative side, Jim Belair took on the role of Treasurer which he was to hold down until 1963 ultimately being made one of the first Life Members of the Club.

Awards for 1958

Best and Fairest: Lindsay Dowling
Second Best and Fairest: Ted Chapman
Best First Year Player: Warner Veale
Best Junior Player: Graeme Sword
Most Improved Player: Graham Humphreys
Best Clubman (shared): Neil Macauley and Ian Wilson